It’s Independence Day in Estonia and Flag Day in Mexico. Every year in Thailand, a National Artist is chosen by the Office of the National Culture Commission and presented with honors on National Artist Day. I get the impression that this is a huge honor in Thailand. According to Wikipedia, “National Artists receive a monthly salary of 12,000 baht as well as health benefits, 15,000 baht towards funeral expenses and 120,000 baht for a memorial biography.”

National Tortilla Chip Day is today, but I have to ask… shouldn’t it also be National Salsa Day and National Guacamole Day? How do you like to eat Tortilla Chips?

Happy Monday!

Independence Day in Estonia Commemorates independence from the Russian Empire in 1918 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Independence_Day_%28Estonia%29

Flag Day in Mexico Marks the date that the"Plan of Iguala" or "Plan of the three guarantees" was proclaimed in 1821. The plan was based in three principles: "Religion, Independence and Unity", which were represented on the flag's colors. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flag_Day_in_Mexico

National Artist Day in Thailand The day when honors are presented to the chosen National Artist of the year http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thailand_National_Artist

Food holidays:

National Tortilla Chip Day http://www.cooksinfo.com/tortilla-chip-day

The following includes official and unofficial weeklong and month-long holidays. New from the previous day are flagged with an asterisk (*), except on the 1st day of the month when they are all new.

Week-long holidays:

Freedom to Read Week in Canada February 23-March 1 http://www.freedomtoread.ca/

National Eating Disorders Awareness Week February 23-March 1 http://nedawareness.org/about

Peace Corps Week February 23 – March 1 http://www.peacecorps.gov/resources/returned/thirdgoal/pcweek/

National Invasive Species Awareness Week http://www.nisaw.org/

Month-long holidays:

Cherry Month http://www.daysoftheyear.com/days/cherry-month/ National Grapefruit Month http://www.oceanspray.com/club/newsletters/newsletter_feb07.htm National Potato Lovers Month http://eatocracy.cnn.com/2013/02/08/national-potato-lovers-month/ Bubblews Potato Lover’s Challenge Month http://www.bubblews.com/news/2206746-potato-lovers-challenge National Macadamia Nut Month http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/articles/view/444/1/National-Macadamia-Nut-Month.html Bake for Family Fun Month http://www.homebaking.org/familyfun/ National Canned Food Month http://www.eatright.org/Public/content.aspx?id=6442474304 National Hot Breakfast Month http://eatocracy.cnn.com/2013/02/07/national-hot-breakfast-month/ Great American Pie Month http://www.gone-ta-pott.com/great_american_pie_month.html

Raynaud’s Awareness Month in the UK http://www.raynauds.org.uk/ CC Awareness Month in the UK http://www.ammf.org.uk/cc-awareness-month/ American Heart Month http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Heart_Month Reproductive Health Month in South Africa http://www.gov.za/events/view.php?sid=42931 National Condom Month http://www.ashastd.org/national-condom-month.html National Healthy Lifestyles Awareness Month in South Africa http://www.gov.za/events/view.php?sid=42932 National Cancer Prevention Month http://preventcancer.aicr.org/site/News2?id=14377 National Children’s Dental Health Month http://www.ada.org/5578.aspx North American Inclusion Month http://www.njcd.org/naim/

Black History Month http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_History_Month and by Bubblews @bodylevive : http://www.bubblews.com/news/2313213-the-man-responsible-for-black-history-month LGBT History Month in the UK http://lgbthistorymonth.org.uk/ Creative Romance Month http://romance-relationships.knoji.com/love-is-in-the-air-during-creative-romance-month/ Library Lovers’ Month http://www.librarysupport.net/librarylovers/

Responsible Pet Owners Month http://www.gone-ta-pott.com/responsible_pet_owners_month.html National Cat Health Month http://www.gone-ta-pott.com/national_cat_health_month.html Dog Training Education Month http://www.dog-obedience-training-review.com/c/february-dog-training-education-month National Pet Dental Health Month https://www.avma.org/Events/pethealth/Pages/February-is-National-Pet-Dental-Health-Month.aspx Adopt-a-Rescued Rabbit Month http://www.petfinder.com/pet-adoption/other-pet-adoption/pet-adoptionotheradopt-a-rescued-rabbit-month-html-2/ Bird-Feeding Month http://www.daysoftheyear.com/days/bird-feeding-month/

That’s it for today! Do you know of or celebrate other holidays on February 24th?

#Holiday #NationalHoliday #InternationalHoliday #FoodHoliday #February24 #February24th #2014 #IndependenceDay #FlagDay #Flag #NationalArtistDay #Artist #NationalTortillaChipDay #TortillaChips

Image credit: Prismistic Inkclicks