It’s Independence Day in Estonia and Flag Day in Mexico. Every year in Thailand, a National Artist is chosen by the Office of the National Culture Commission and presented with honors on National Artist Day. I get the impression that this is a huge honor in Thailand. According to Wikipedia, “National Artists receive a monthly salary of 12,000 baht as well as health benefits, 15,000 baht towards funeral expenses and 120,000 baht for a memorial biography.”

National Tortilla Chip Day is today, but I have to ask… shouldn’t it also be National Salsa Day and National Guacamole Day? How do you like to eat Tortilla Chips?

Happy Monday!

Independence Day in Estonia
Commemorates independence from the Russian Empire in 1918
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Independence_Day_%28Estonia%29

Flag Day in Mexico
Marks the date that the"Plan of Iguala" or "Plan of the three guarantees" was proclaimed in 1821. The plan was based in three principles: "Religion, Independence and Unity", which were represented on the flag's colors.
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flag_Day_in_Mexico

National Artist Day in Thailand
The day when honors are presented to the chosen National Artist of the year
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thailand_National_Artist

Food holidays:

National Tortilla Chip Day
www.cooksinfo.com/tortilla-chip-day

The following includes official and unofficial weeklong and month-long holidays. New from the previous day are flagged with an asterisk (*), except on the 1st day of the month when they are all new.

Week-long holidays:

Freedom to Read Week in Canada February 23-March 1
www.freedomtoread.ca/

National Eating Disorders Awareness Week February 23-March 1
nedawareness.org/about

Peace Corps Week February 23 – March 1
www.peacecorps.gov/resources/returned/thirdgoal/pcweek/

National Invasive Species Awareness Week
www.nisaw.org/

Month-long holidays:

Cherry Month www.daysoftheyear.com/days/cherry-month/
National Grapefruit Month www.oceanspray.com/club/newsletters/newsletter_feb07.htm
National Potato Lovers Month eatocracy.cnn.com/2013/02/08/national-potato-lovers-month/
Bubblews Potato Lover’s Challenge Month www.bubblews.com/news/2206746-potato-lovers-challenge
National Macadamia Nut Month www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/articles/view/444/1/National-Macadamia-Nut-Month.html
Bake for Family Fun Month www.homebaking.org/familyfun/
National Canned Food Month www.eatright.org/Public/content.aspx?id=6442474304
National Hot Breakfast Month eatocracy.cnn.com/2013/02/07/national-hot-breakfast-month/
Great American Pie Month www.gone-ta-pott.com/great_american_pie_month.html

Raynaud’s Awareness Month in the UK www.raynauds.org.uk/
CC Awareness Month in the UK www.ammf.org.uk/cc-awareness-month/
American Heart Month en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Heart_Month
Reproductive Health Month in South Africa www.gov.za/events/view.php?sid=42931
National Condom Month www.ashastd.org/national-condom-month.html
National Healthy Lifestyles Awareness Month in South Africa www.gov.za/events/view.php?sid=42932
National Cancer Prevention Month preventcancer.aicr.org/site/News2?id=14377
National Children’s Dental Health Month www.ada.org/5578.aspx
North American Inclusion Month www.njcd.org/naim/

Black History Month en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_History_Month and by Bubblews &bodylevive : www.bubblews.com/news/2313213-the-man-responsible-for-black-history-month
LGBT History Month in the UK lgbthistorymonth.org.uk/
Creative Romance Month romance-relationships.knoji.com/love-is-in-the-air-during-creative-romance-month/
Library Lovers’ Month www.librarysupport.net/librarylovers/

Responsible Pet Owners Month www.gone-ta-pott.com/responsible_pet_owners_month.html
National Cat Health Month www.gone-ta-pott.com/national_cat_health_month.html
Dog Training Education Month www.dog-obedience-training-review.com/c/february-dog-training-education-month
National Pet Dental Health Month www.avma.org/Events/pethealth/Pages/February-is-National-Pet-Dental-Health-Month.aspx
Adopt-a-Rescued Rabbit Month www.petfinder.com/pet-adoption/other-pet-adoption/pet-adoptionotheradopt-a-rescued-rabbit-month-html-2/
Bird-Feeding Month www.daysoftheyear.com/days/bird-feeding-month/

That’s it for today! Do you know of or celebrate other holidays on February 24th?

+Holiday +NationalHoliday +InternationalHoliday +FoodHoliday +February24 +February24th +2014 +IndependenceDay +FlagDay +Flag +NationalArtistDay +Artist +NationalTortillaChipDay +Tortillachips

Image credit: Prismistic Inkclicks